I made a complaint to the Police. WTF is going on?

I’m after an opinion on something, from a serving or former police officer. I can’t go into details on the internet, so this is necessarily vague.

I was the victim of a minor scam which I suspect was a theft. This happened to be in an area in which I have some relevant technical experience. Mr or Mrs Average might not have realised how they had been scammed and the scam has probably been carried out hundreds of times..

So, being a conscientious citizen, I reported it to the local police. My theory was that they might have a look, and either;

1) give me a Crime Reference Number, collect some more evidence (for there was much more available) and pass it on to the CPS or

2) give me a Crime Reference Number and do nothing more, as they do with numerous minor offences.

I was wrong. The police service won’t provide a CRN.

My understanding is that the police are obliged to provide a CRN when a report is made, regardless of whether or not they think the incident is an offence; see the flow diagram on P8 of the Ministry of Justice’s ‘Code of Practice for Victims of Crime’. The deciding factor here is (I think) whether the victim thinks it was a crime. The CRN is a clerical stage acknowledging the report, similar to receiving a receipt in a shop.

Should the details of a complaint be put on the Police National Computer system at that stage, for the attention of other Police Services that might have an interest in the suspects? I don’t know how this process is meant to work.

I’ve looked at what I think is the relevant statute (Theft Act ) and I’m fairly sure it was a theft (but I’m not a Lawyer, etc).