I am a pathetic physical specimen

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by halfshellhick, Dec 4, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am looking at joining the army as an officer having recently finished university, however the years of boozing/smoking have took their toll. I am not overweight, just weak and very out of shape.

My current stats are:

1.5 mile run: 17mins
    Max press ups (2mins): 11
    Max sit ups (2mins): 27

I am working temporary jobs for cash but would like to join asap. On a plan of running 3x a week and doing weights 3x a week can anyone give a rough estimate of how long it would take me to get to a suitable fitness? (10mins 1.5mile run, 40ish press ups/sit ups).
  2. Hats off to you lad, I've been abusing my body for 30+ years and I have not been able to get as bad as you are. What sort of drinking training have you been carrying out?
  3. This has got to be a WAH.

Even after a 17 hour sesh I can easily pass a PFT. (Not condoned or recommended BTW).

You are indeed not even pathetic..........
  4. A mix of endurance drinking and HIIT smoking. I can't fully blame fags and booze though, I have hardly exercised since the age of 11 when I stopped playing football.
  5. 4 years, 13 months and 262 days.

Now, five times round my beautiful body..... wait for it.... GO!!!

On a serious note, start slowly, throwing yourself into running 3x a week a and doing weights 3x a week is going to be pretty demotivating when you are in such a puny and weedy state. Go out and get yourself a copy of "Fighting Fit" by Adrian Weale, all you need to know is contained within.
  6. I must be more than twice your age and I am more than twice as fit as you are! How on earth have you managed to achieve that dismal level of fitness?

Three months - sensibly.