HQ Coy, 7th Rifles - What Trade to Choose?

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by bishbashbosh, Jul 14, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello All.

I'll hearing tonight whether my application to join the TA is successful (ADSC(P) at the weekend).

I'm unsure of what trade I should choose at HQ Coy, 7th Rifles; Assault Pioneer, Medic or Signals.

I'm not an civvie mechanic or engineer so joining Remy would be ill-advised.

I work a lot with computers on civvie street, so I'm not too keen on more of the same. I'd like to be running around - not stuck in some trailer staring at a monitor (is Signals anything like this?).

I'm not too enthused by the idea of Assault Pioneers - are these guys ever on the frontline or do they just construct FOBs and camps? ARRSEPedia says the Pioneers is "a trade to avoid like the plague".

I don't want to join as a medic since this would mean forfeiting CIC (which sounds like fun).

I'm sure all these preconceptions are completely groundless and I'm fully aware of how ignorant I am. I would appreciate all recommendations!

2. Assault pioneers are trained riflemen first and low level combat engineers second. If you do not like hard work then do not apply. It is one of the best courses a junior rifleman can do....not that I'm biased or anything.

3. ... perhaps not. Thank you all for your input anyway.

4. chrisg46

chrisg46 LE Book Reviewer

We'll be watching...

5. Infantry Signallers are also infantry first. They will be working at Plt, Coy & Btn level during an assault. They are always part of the battle.

6. "Infantry Signallers ... will be working at Plt, Coy & Btn level during an assault. They are always part of the battle"

Would I be more "in demand" as a signaller? I'm looking for the role that is most "combat-focused". I like the idea of being in the thick of the action.

Misguided?