HP Photosmart (3 in 1) - False warning of Ink Cartride Access Door Open

Discussion in 'Hardware - PCs, Consoles, Gadgets' started by Yokel, Dec 9, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. After months of trouble free use, my printer now keeps telling me that the ink cartridge access door is open - although it is closed. I've tried turning it off and on again, but without any luck. In fact at the moment it is going bannanas - unable to decide whether it is ready or if the door is open.

Any ideas?

Disregard - it seems to have settled down, but I'll leave the post....

2. Arse! It's doing it again - and I had an important letter to print.

HELP!!!

3. Disclaimer - I have NO specific knowledge of this printer - but - there should be a switch or sensor associated with the door. May be physical or electronic to detect the status of the door. Take a close look for something like a microswitch or a small block with wires in the area of the door and depending on what you find, check that it's clean and is lining up properly.

4. How to Reset HP Photosmart Printers - Guides & Tutorials

There do seem to be quite a few HP cartridge door issues - the above link takes you through soft and hard resets, in case there is a software issue with the printer.

From another website - indicates that this fixed the problem (may not apply to your printer)

If you lift up the printer door you will see a button thing protruding from the door that is on the left hand side about 5 centimetres behind where "WEB" is written on the front (as in the "PRINT, SCAN COPY WEB").

this was the source of my problem with my b110a. if you play with this switch -slowly push it in/slowly let it out- you will (hopefully) see the warning disappear. for a second.