How would old vehicles fare in current theatres

Discussion in 'Weapons, Equipment & Rations' started by meridian, Aug 8, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. meridian

meridian LE Good Egg (charities)

I was watching something on the telly about Rolls Royce Armoured Cars the other day and got to thinking how would vehicles of yesteryear cope in todays theatres

if

1. They were just dropped in
    2. The basic design was used but with new materials, engines, electronics, weapons etc

The Rolls Royce Armoured Car
    [​IMG]

Humber
    [​IMG]

AEC Armoured Car
    [​IMG]

Coventry Armoured Car
    [​IMG]

Ferret
    [​IMG]

Staghound
    [​IMG]

Saladin
    [​IMG]

or even a Fox
    [​IMG]

2. I'm no expert but I would guess that out of the trinity firepower would be fine or easily upgraded but mobility would be completely degraded (or indeed removed) once you added the theatre spec of protection!

3. Your second point stating that same design, but newer engines etc is the whats really happening now. Ferret and Fox (and maybe Saladin) were used at the same time as 432's and now we have re-engineered, designed Bulldog!
    But as has been mentioned before, on some vehicles the armour levels, E/EECM and comm's kit, all in can weigh upto 3-4t. To achieve that on older designs would be impossible, hence why you cant bolt on adequate armour onto Beford/Daf's etc.

And what Horrid said :wink:

4. Most of the snatch's are older than the lads driving them......

5. Like the Foden TTFs in TELIC 1, or the 'new' Bulldogs currently!

6. All of you Old armoured cars look as though they would lose their wheels easily, weather the armoured hull would protect those inside is another matter.
    john

7. meridian

meridian LE Good Egg (charities)

Dont forget, all those pictures are of vehicles that have seen action in hot places