How well regarded is the OUBS

Discussion in 'Jobs (Discussion)' started by parasigs, Feb 20, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Guys

Im looking at starting a Diploma of Higher Education with the Open Uni Business School and then hopefully to a BA Business Studies.

My question is...

How well regarded is the Open Uni Business School by employers?

Any employers/recruiters want to give there opinions?

2. Grownup_Rafbrat

Grownup_Rafbrat LE Good Egg (charities)

I have a Diploma in Management Studies from them.

No employer or Recruitment Agent has ever expressed an interest in it, or asked what it meant, or whether it was useful for my job.

It's never been mentioned at Interviews, nor has the OU or OUBS.

Shame all my hard work and that high grade are perceived so lightly. I suspect that applies to a lot of degrees though, once you get past a certain level of experience. Might be different for a youngster (I did it in my thirties) or for someone changing into a new career.
  3. I kinda agree with Grownup_r... degrees are the domain of younglins'. Experience and proof of delivery counts. A degree props it up but generally in left at the door post 21 yrs old. Only **** people like government insist on it.
  4. Once you're past 30, employers are looking for a track record, not a degree (unless it's an MBA from one of the top business schools). The problem if you're serving is that the education centres only offer you OUBS, Leeds and Bournemouth, or Newcastle because they've got the contract for CLM accreditation.
  5. Spot on - the fact that you have delivered "something" to Time, cost and quality will gain you entry through the front door.

I have found that employers and myself - when looking at CV's always ask "what can this person do for the business" - a CV that is all about "I did this and that" will not stand.