How to wile away three years?

Discussion in 'Jobs (Discussion)' started by Minimum6Characters, Apr 21, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

I've been applying to join the the Int Corps but, due to a motorcycle accident last year, I've been deferred until December 2012. Joining the army is all I've ever wanted and I don't know what I'm going to do now.

I did 13 months as a journalist and hated it, and I've done a few months as a painter and decorator, but other than that I've no real work experience.

Ideally I'd like something that allows me to be involved with the military - maybe a little number as a journo for one of the charities or something like that. Otherwise, though, I'm wondering if there are any jobs, courses that you could reccomend.

They don't have to have a tangible link to the Army, but something that's going to hold some relevance so I can convince myself I'm doing it as part of the process as opposed to just for the sake of it.

Quite a broad question but hopefully you get the jist - any ideas?

Cheers,

2. What about the TA, just to get the feel of things ???

3. You could start by learning how to spell 'while'.....!

4. fcuk off the military totally and get yourself a job either offshore or offshore ............ just as much time away, less people shooting at you and more money :D

5. Actually, it is wile. As in 'trick'; how to 'get rid' of three years. These days I think both spellings are accepted*, but even so... why bother picking up on someone's spelling?

I can't join the TA as the medical requirements are the same, and I'm down on computer as being 'unfit for service'.