How to wile away three years?

Hi,

I've been applying to join the the Int Corps but, due to a motorcycle accident last year, I've been deferred until December 2012. Joining the army is all I've ever wanted and I don't know what I'm going to do now.

I did 13 months as a journalist and hated it, and I've done a few months as a painter and decorator, but other than that I've no real work experience.

Ideally I'd like something that allows me to be involved with the military - maybe a little number as a journo for one of the charities or something like that. Otherwise, though, I'm wondering if there are any jobs, courses that you could reccomend.

They don't have to have a tangible link to the Army, but something that's going to hold some relevance so I can convince myself I'm doing it as part of the process as opposed to just for the sake of it.

Quite a broad question but hopefully you get the jist - any ideas?

Cheers,

fcuk off the military totally and get yourself a job either offshore or offshore ............ just as much time away, less people shooting at you and more money :D

marco_poloroid said:
You could start by learning how to spell 'while'.....!
Actually, it is wile. As in 'trick'; how to 'get rid' of three years. These days I think both spellings are accepted*, but even so... why bother picking up on someone's spelling?

bootneck01 said:
What about the TA, just to get the feel of things ???
I can't join the TA as the medical requirements are the same, and I'm down on computer as being 'unfit for service'.

exdropshort said:
fcuk off the military totally and get yourself a job either offshore or offshore ............ just as much time away, less people shooting at you and more money :D
There are other aspects of which attract me but I want to join primarily to serve my country. I know it's a cliche, but the friends, the excitement and the opportunities all come as welcome by-products. I don't think I'm really suited for offshore work.