How do you pay for your food and whats it like?

Discussion in 'The ARRSE Hole' started by SOLSTICE, Jun 4, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I thought that for your food when at your barracks after Phase 2 training you pay for it monthly, but i've had some people tell me about the PAYD system. What is this and how does it work?

Also, as i'm a chef at current i like my food, is the food on a eat as much as you can pile on your plate or is it a set amount?

2. PAYD (AKA Save As You Starve)

does what is says on the tin.

You are served a set amount by a gimlet eyed and bad tempered civi, that's if you have managed to actually find someone to look after your kit and weapon whilst you eat because you can't take anything into the canteen with you (includes daysacs). Oh and if anyone's bothered to turn up to work there.

You then pay a small but silly amount of money from the pocketful of small change you now have to carry around with you. That's if there's anyone actually at the till.

As for quality, think transport cafe c.1970.

Luckily where I have to experience this farcical facade of military catering, there is a Tesco's a short distance away, and funnily enough uniforms are not an uncommon sight there of a lunchtime. Tesco's will let you in with a daysac on as well - who'd have thought it!

I should point out that I have only one PAYD location experience and I am sure there are many other establishments with PAYD fac full of happily troughing soldiers tucking into succulent healthy meals served by cheerful and efficient operatives (like the ones in the MATTS video).

And yes complaints have been staffed up the CoC.

3. And when it's not PAYD is the food better by military chefs?

4. Got a can of worms here , anybody got a can opener !!

5. Without hesitation, yes.