How do I fix too much tomato paste in a recipe?

Whining Civvy

War Hero
Yup, rookie error, but then I am a beginner so there you go. The problem is, it's quite a lot of meat and will be a hell of a waste if I can't fix tone down the tomato taste. It's a bolognaise and has beef stock and wine in, google suggests either watering it down or adding more stock, has anyone here actually tried this and does it work?

Donny

ADC
Remove some of the sauce and replace with stock to the consistency you want. Taste and repeat if necessary. There’ll still be a strong taste of tomato on the meat but it’ll be balanced by the salty stock.

Whining Civvy

War Hero
Ok, I'll give it a go. Thank you! I'll try the water first, if that doesn't work I'll simmer it down a bit and add some stock. It can't end up worse than it is now.

Add more meat to reduce the percentage of tomato in the dish.
You'll possibly get tired of eating it over the next few days but that will remind you not to mess up next time.

Ladle out half the sauce and freeze it for another day. Top up with water.
been there, done that.
Wot 'E said.
I think we've all made the mistake of too much tomato sauce.

Whatever you do in the future, read the recipe carefully.. I'm numerically dyslexic.. A recipe said 3-4 cloves... I put in 34.

964ST

War Hero
Slow cook it? It can be a long time, and good! Or a very long time and very good. As long as the pasta is already not included?

Wot 'E said.

Whatever you do in the future, read the recipe carefully.. I'm numerically dyslexic.. A recipe said 3-4 cloves... I put in 34.
Fecking Hell! How many bulbs is that?
You could hire yourself out as a paint stripper after eating that many.

964ST

War Hero
Wot 'E said.

You will be safe! Maybe not from COVID! But Safe from Vampires :)

Whining Civvy

War Hero