How crap is your password?

Discussion in 'ARRSE: Site Issues' started by Good CO, Nov 18, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Good CO

Good CO LE Admin

Own up:

25 Worst Passwords of 2011

SplashData created the rankings based on millions of stolen passwords posted online by hackers. Here is the complete list:
    • 1. password
    • 2. 123456
    • 4. qwerty
    • 5. abc123
    • 6. monkey
    • 7. 1234567
    • 8. letmein
    • 9. trustno1
    • 10. dragon
    • 11. baseball
    • 12. 111111
    • 13. iloveyou
    • 14. master
    • 15. sunshine
    • 16. ashley
    • 17. bailey
    • 18. passw0rd
    • 19. shadow
    • 20. 123123
    • 21. 654321
    • 22. superman
    • 23. qazwsx
    • 24. michael
    • 25. football
    • Like Like x 1
  2. I was a Network Administrator years ago and shared a instant dislike and mutual hatred with one of the Managers. Some how his account password had to changed every week weekly with a 15 charachter Words/Letters/Symbols / Hi/ Low case, With no repeats or even "close" passwords allowed .

Simple , childish but made my day when he forgot and had to get me to unlock his account:)

Also found many users with the password taped to the bottom of the keybd.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. None of them or my service number but I bet there are a few on here who use it
  4. The company I work for has over the last few years tried to make password security stronger, the result have been similar - now all you have to do is walk around peoples desks or check the back page of their desk diaries/note books.
  5. I wonder how many people use password generators and trust it with their own details?

A crap password is as bad as a blank default, of which I know a few systems have in place.
  6. That's the problem with strong passwords though, people will write them down somewhere.