HM The Queens Garden Party.

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by BuggerAll, Jun 19, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. BuggerAll

BuggerAll LE Reviewer Book Reviewer

Is attending HM's garden Party a duty or should an attendee book leave on JPA?

BTB I'm asking the q on some one else behalf. As a TA officer I am not asking for/expecting to be paid for attending a Garden Party.
  2. I attended as a TA officer many years ago - in fact it was the day the IRA bombed the Household Cavalry. The Adj insisted I drew pay on the basis of 'you wear the uniform - you are doing your duty - the Regs attending are getting paid - it is a One Army concept'. If in doubt 'draw the pay and donate it to the RBL/Help for Heroes.
  3. seaweed

seaweed LE Book Reviewer

Congrats, you're obviously not a Member of Parliament!
    • Like Like x 1
  4. The_Duke

The_Duke LE Moderator

Is it supporting the "Campaign footing"? Does it contribute to the combat effectiveness of the unit or support operations?

The answer is clearly no, so C1 under the current directives.

Sorry, just noticed question is about leave, not pay. I would suggest that is down to the individual's boss.
  5. Please excuse my ignorance but how does a TA officer acquire rights of 'leave' when as a casual employee we are/were paid on a daily rate. the attendee is REg or TA ?
  6. BuggerAll

BuggerAll LE Reviewer Book Reviewer

BTB I'm asking the q on some one else behalf. As a TA officer I am not asking for/expecting to be paid for attending a Garden Party.

The somebody else is a regular.
  7. I'm going to one this year, but wouldn't even dream of putting in for leave, particularly given the fact that Service personnel should really attend in uniform.