History Geeks

Discussion in 'Military History and Militaria' started by Bigdumps, Jul 23, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I freely admit I am a history geek, all things military history, but especially WW1 and the Peloponnesian wars.

Just wondering how may history fans are on here what particular period they are interested in!

2. Confession time: I'm a history student - especially early middle ages, but I'm interested in most stuff.

3. Ventress

Ventress LE Moderator

WW1, colonials, British Army general history.

4. British India and Rome. Strange bedfellows at first glance but they have their similarities....

5. British Army from any era.
    I really enjoy getting inside other unit messes and browsing the walls and cabinets (sad I know).

6. WW2. German Russian campaigns

7. maguire

maguire LE Book Reviewer

world war 2, vietnam and military aviation history in general.

8. I'm with you Bd The Great War is the one that holds the greatest fascination for me. Has done for as long as I can remember, at least back to the age of about 6 listening to an older friend of my grandfathers who was one the old contemptibles (1st Cheshires) and had won an MM on the Somme...

9. All history.

It's our collective past. It is the story of ordinary people like us.

Forget or ignore history and we are destined to repeat our mistakes, perhaps all politicians should be tested before they are allowed to take office?

I now have the time to indulge my interest. The thing that strikes me is that even relatively recent events like the Great War and WWII benefit from personalisation.

Get close to the people where you can and the sense of reality is sometimes almost overwhelming.

The yellow house in the background is the Hitler household.

[​IMG]

In the cemetery is his parents grave.

[​IMG]