HIAB Training?

Discussion in 'Education and Resettlement Courses' started by fltpilot, Apr 22, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I want to undertake training to use a Lorry Loader (HIAB).
    This is for me and not related to my job or work.
    Seems the 3 types are either ALLMI/CPCS or RTITB?
    But which one is going to be more widely accepted within the transport industry?
  2. Seems it does not matter as long as you have the card to say you have done a course.
    ALLMI & RTITB seem to be the one the agencies go for, Costs vary but around £500+VAT for 2 days training.
  3. Did not see the thread earlier or I would have replied, From my own experience as a Crane Operator I would say that CPCS is by far the most recognised within the industry.

It is almost an essential requirment on some bigger sites as an operator or a banksmen/slinger.

I would like to suggest that , if you have the time and money to do so, go for Banksman/Slinger on a CPCS Card as well....it is a very useful and practical qualification and enables you to work with plant, cranes and indeed HIABS.....
  4. How much/long is CPCS?

And do the hours count to CPC?
  5. CPCS is about £1k + VAT
    ALLMI is about £500 + VAT
    Transport Industry seeks ALLMI or RTITB.
    Just need the Qualification.
    As for counting towards Driver CPC depends who you do it with but most seem to be ALLMI/RTITB Quals.