Hi

Discussion in 'Gunners' started by Foitin_Irish, Jul 7, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm Considering joining the RA. I know everyone will stick up for their own role, battery etc but could you gentleman be good enough to give your objective opinions to which role in the RA is the "best".
    I got my eye on radar Op or sound ranging, any one have experience of either?

Any helpful advice would well appreciated, cheers in advance

F_I

2. I have a lot of experience in Sound Ranging (new and old kit) and a bit on Radar

I loved soundranging and its a good laugh, I only really know Radar from the LP end which isn't working with the dish and I'm not sure that COBRA or MAMBA use LPs, I did a little work with COBRA na seeing how powerful it is I doubt they need them.

Soundranging is a lot of hurry up and wait, get the kit out ASAP, get it working and , well maintain and , well err move it when told to, oh and change batteries. The Command Post work is probably the best job (IMHO) although I loved being a Mic pair Commander working in 2's on the kit I was a little bored once its set up but in the CP you are active all the time getting locations and passing them up to Div/Corp/etc. Although I have used the "new" kit I left that world for UAVs about the time they adopted it in the Bty properly so I am unsure if what I have said still holds water, when I used this kit it was in small dets in Bosnia so I am unsure wheteer they keep that structure or adopted the more cntralised (and older) GSR version