Help: Royal Sigs to Royal Arty courses confusion

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Lucent, Aug 7, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi I am a TA soldier who transferred last year from a Royal Signals Unit to
    Royal Artillery. Originally I was told by my new PSI's/PSAO that they
    would transfer my R.Sigs Class 3 Radio Operators qualification into the
    MOD 1 or 2 RA Signals qualification. Its now become clear that they
    havent the foggiest on how to do that, and nearly a year on they are now
    telling me I should just do the courses from scratch.

Does anyone know how, or know who would be able, to derive the
    equivalent Royal Signals qualification, based on the TO's, into a Royal
    Artillery Signals qualification ? Or am I doomed to have to attend courses
    I am already beyond..?

Thanks for any suggestions or help..
  2. Well if you're beyond them, may I suggest simply sitting down and taking the test for the quals you want?

Should be a piece of the proverbial...
  3. Hmm..Is that even possible ? I'll ask at my unit but I suspect they wouldnt
    be able to do that - and that it would be a matter of me having to go on
    the whole course just so I can take the test at the end..

4. If the arty course is like the infantry one then your not as trained as a arty signaller, your lacking around 50% of the subjects (also bear in mind you've done basic JMH which is of no use to Arty).

I've got 4 Signals trades after moving units (1 Inf and 3 RSigs), I've also 4 class 1 qualifications (2 Inf and 2 RSigs). You see the army finds it easier to waste money than find its way through paper work.

I've tried what you did, armed with a class 1 Radio Op (Inf) course and a class 1 Data Op (AS Op - Sigs) but still I was told I needed to be converted as I wasn't qualified to do data (Sigs don't trust their own quals)