Help Requested

Discussion in 'Infantry' started by Hescoheed, Nov 21, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Dear All
    This is a rather bizarre request, but I am looking for clarification on the RCO orders/statement given at the end of a range shoot.

I am a TA Troopy who hasn't attended RMQ course as of yet, but has completed CMCQC. In my civy job I am a Forensic Engineer and had a case land on my desk apparently due to my experience of spending many happy days on ranges and on ops.

Due to the confidentiality in this case I am unable to go into any real detail about the circumstances. However, the general sketch is that a person connected to the armed forces has been found in the possession of a small number of 5.56 live rounds that have been "collected" over a period of 10 years or so. His excuse for not handing them in after he had found them on his person/in his kit and after he had given the declaration " I have no live rounds...etc...Sir, is that he was too scared to hand them in. This is due to the RCO's statement at the end of the shoot "it is an offence.....etc. He claims that had the statement ten years ago had the caveat, that I hear all the time, "....if however, you do find any live rounds etc, after you leave the range then you should hand them into a responsible person as soon as you can and nothing more MAY be said", he would have handed them in straight away. He reckons this caveat is only a couple of years old and the rounds he had were prior to that (batch codes confirm this). Therefore he was not too keen to hand over the rounds so that he could be given a left hook with Queens Regs.

I know, I can hear all the groaning.....so why didn't he chuck them off his local bridge etc...well there is a possible explanation but that unfortunately is not for discussion on this forum (case confidentiality).