help hnc project

Discussion in 'ARRSE: Site Issues' started by pyscho, Jun 24, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi is there anyone out there who can help. I am a second year hnc student who is planning a project. The project involves a study in automating a home for a person with a disability. I will be looking at the technology involved, how it works and how it can be intergrated into the home enviroment. and so on. If there is anyone who can help with this. Please get in touch. Many thanks and regards.
  2. For what its worth, years ago, for a much much simpler project, I used Programmable Logic Controllers (CO2 Detector connected to PLC connected to exhaust fans and warning device.).
  3. Thanks but I am looking to do a degree in medical technology and I feel that it will help me get the entry onto that degree program. Do you have any ideas.
  4. Have you tried contacting anyone at DMRC Headley Court in Leatherhead, Surrey? They'd be an ideal place to start your research.
  5. Thanks will look into it asap. Have a nice weekend or what is left of it.
  6. No ideas, not really. :(

But just remembered something, again, do not know if it is helpful. At the same time as I was doing the project I mentioned above, my friend was asked to come up with a bed to help prevent bedsores. Apparently, bed ridden people develop bedsores if they are not periodically turned over.

Just an idea.

My friend made a mess of it. His bed consisted of sponge cubes held up by pneumatic/hydraulic cylinders. He then programmed some of the cylinders to retract at certain times thereby (supposedly) preventing bed sores! :giggle: As I said, he made a mess of it. :)
  7. Thanks for the reply. How did your project go. I am afraid programming is not my strong point. I just managed a merit in that module last year.