Help!! - Epilepsy

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by UKLF_Kat, Aug 6, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi Guys and Gals,

I dont know whether or not that this is in the right place, appologies if it isn't.

I am a contractor at an Army barracks...........

I have recently had a recurrance of my epilepsy, this has gone from "mild" stage (partial seizures) to "severe" (full seizures, with the odd partial seizure thrown in). I had a period of three years where I was seizure free, however through various factors my seizures were triggered again.

At every stage I have informed my managers and supplied them with all the relevant information and also made sure that the GHSA was informed.

I have recently suffered a partial seizure at work I went to my GP and I ave been signed off, I rang my G.M. and explained the situation and the response was "You're safer being signed off". Now its either my paranoia or "The Contractor" are trying to get me out of a job because of my medical condition, I have told them that I am willing to take desk job but have recieved no response.

Can they sack me ?

2. Not if they knew about your condition when they employed you, and you've kept them up to date. Hopefully you have written records etc. regarding this?

And you're not a contractor as in, contracted from an agency? If you're a full time employee at this company they can't dump you, but if you've been contracted in from an agency etc. to do work, they can drop you easily.

3. I'm a recruitment and employment consultant ok, so I can speak with a fairly good degree of authority on the subject - plus my mum's epiliptic with generalised and focal seizures so I've been through all that sh!t with her and employment too.

They CANNOT sack you.