Help: Back injury possible MD?

Discussion in 'Armed Forces Pension Scheme' started by Tempest-warrior, Feb 4, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi i am a serving soldier in the artillery i have served just over 4 years and recieved an injury in febuary 2012 during a pnco cadre course at first i was just given pain killers i was then given physio and they believed i just had tightened muscles in the lower back, when physio was not working and my pain was getting worse i awaited an Mri scan results showed The following;

There is straightening of the lumber lordosis present theirs a grade 1 retrolisthesis of L5 on S1
    Theirs a diffuse reduction in the marrow signal seen on both the T1 and T2W images consistent with persistent red marrow. The conus appears normal and terminates at T12/L1. At L3/4 and L4/5 their is a posterior central/left paracentral disk herination present indenting the thecal sac anteriorily and contacting the left S1 nerve root as it exits the thecal sac.

I am now on tramadol and amitriptyline with my condition not improving i have been referred to an orthopedic doctor who will give me a steroid injection 11/03/13... I have been really down lately as i am temp downgraded restricted of pretty much everything and fear i may not be able to carry on in the army and i will never have a normal back even after surgery if it comes to it. I am currently claiming against the mod for this injury i was just wondering if anyone could give me any advice on where i can seek assistance?
    Whats the chances of me been able to carry on in the army?
    Am i likely to be looking at a medical discharge?