Help! Advice Needed!!!

Discussion in 'Int Corps' started by saddave023, Feb 24, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello to all!!

Well I’m hoping someone can shed light on my small predicament.

I’m Ex-Royal Artillery and after completing 9 years service I left in 2010 as a Substantive Corporal.
    I’m currently a police officer and work in intelligence.

The ‘bug’ has never left me and I’m seriously considering rejoining, however at 29 I’m aware my options are limited.

I looked into joining the Int Corps as an officer but have been told this is not now a possibility due to the officer age limit of 26!

There is the option however of joining the - wait for it…. RAF. The RAF will take officer intakes for intelligence roles to the ripe old age of 36!

From where I’m sitting it looks like my only two options are the RAF one or joining the Int Corps as a regular Soldier.

With the possibility of sounding completely arrogant joining the Int Corps as a soldier leaves me somewhat restless…

9 years in the Army brought me any experiences, including tours of Afghanistan, Iraq, Bosnia and exercises in Oman, Canada and Germany. Given this 'experience' and taking into account my current role I can’t help but feel I have more to give then joining from scratch as a regular soldier...

Any help or advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

2. I really don't get where this myth of officer is better than soldier when it comes to intelligence - officers don't DO a lot of the work, whereas we mete mortals do. I've had a far mote colourful and effective career than the majority of ruperts in the Corps

Posted from the ARRSE Mobile app (iOS or Android)

• Like Like x 1