Hcav - do you need a private income?

Discussion in 'RAC' started by rjh15, Dec 27, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am in my final year at University, I have passed my RCB and was sponsored by the HCav.

I have met very few members of HCav (or indeed the Cavalry as a whole) but have heard that you need to be independently wealthy to be in the HCav. Is this true? As I am not!

I want to be in a recce regiment and so would be interested to hear about the character of other recce regiments as obviously I have looked at their websites but I want to know the stuff that they dont tell you on the sites.

Many thanks guys.

2. A lot of the subalterns who do not have private incomes struggle a bit the extra messing costs the additional uniform and the dishonest barmen
    oooh scratch that last one.
    If you are any good at backgammon you have got it sussed.
    I know back in the 90's Coronets tended to pay out more than they were earning but it is not impossible to get by without a private income and it is definitely worth it for the chance to serve with the best. that's the Blues and Royals by the way not them Life Guard thingy's :D

3. "Coronets" ! Was it the cost of the ermine, before Tony's changes to the Lords ? Those without titles, or only with lesser ones, could perhaps have saved on this, I expect.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coronet

4. You need a private income to join any part of the Army now!

Just visit your local trucking temp agency and see where your soldiers are!

Or the evening shift at your local supermarket for the MOD Civil Servants.

Litotes

5. okay fair one my bad, Cornet not coronets. I have a man cold!!