Have some questions for UK soldiers...

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by Anastasia, May 29, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi!

I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the right forum. If I'm not, please let me know and I'll repost it.

I'm a fantasy fiction writer living in the United States. I published a military fantasy novel last year where the characters are elite team of elves part of an army in a fictional world. I donate a portion of my royalties to a charity in the US for wounded soldiers. The first two books of the series, have armies modeled after the military in the US.

For the third book (and possibly fourth) of the series, I want to introduce an army that is modeled after the UK military (including the SAS). I also want to have part of the royalties of my book sales from this particular book in the series go to a charity that benefits UK soldiers in some way.

So, my request here has two parts.

Would a soldier (retired or active) be willing to talk to me - answer questions about how the structure of the UK army is set up, ranking system, general military life, along with personal questions regarding a soldier's service in the military. My Dad served 20 years in the US army, but I know the UK army handles things differently. I want my fictional army to still be accurate in the facts, so require some help with this.

And, can anyone share any charities or organizations that benefit UK soldiers? In the US here we have the Wounded Warrior Project that helps wounded soldiers and their families after returning home and I'm looking for something similar - an organization that helps wounded (physical and mental) soldiers. I'm also interested in something that helps veterans.

Thank you so much!
    Anastasia V. Pergakis
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Holidays for heroes! Send Porridge_gun a message.