Has/is the Ex-Sister-in-Law commited or is committing fraud?

Discussion in 'Finance, Property, Law' started by Fat_Cav, May 10, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. OK guys, just would like a quick heads up if the Ex-Sister-in-Law is or has committed some type of Fraud.

My wife's brother got married about 10 yrs ago. She's was a divorcee who's ex was paying off the mortgage on the family home. My BiL arranged a new joint mortgage to pay off the ex-husband and an additional amount to extend the house, in which he did (he's a builder by trade)

Through one reason or another (he couldn't keep his cock in his pants) after 3-4 years they seperated and he left the family home to move in with scrubber Nº 3. I'm not sure of the technicalities but because he couldn't keep up the payments on the joint mortgage, he somehow went into some type of voluntary bankruptcy. We understand his ex was paying off the interest only on the mortgage with no re-payment mechanism in place. o_O

Anyway, he's been sending her divorce papers every year which she refuses to sign and I believe the BiL is either too skint or stupid to find another avenue to divorce her.

The point has come to a head where by he's now found out (by chance looking on Right Move) that their family home has been sold STC. We know he's still on the mortgage as it was confirmed when he enquired coincidentally in the bank about a month ago and found that unbeknown to him, not only has she re-mortgaged the house with him on it a few years back, she's also added £56k of various credit and store cards she owns.

So my questions are:
    • Has she committed fraud by re-mortgaging their home without him knowing and added a huge amount to it he may not liable for?