Has anyone has had any success in appealing a Medical Rejection?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by Pinhead, Jan 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi I was wondering if anyone has had any success in appealing a Medical Rejection.

I decided recently to join the TA after 5 years of leaving the service. I was declined on medical grounds by Glasgow.

On my TA application form I mentioned an operation I had when I was a private soldier 15 years ago, I was injured on operational duty and the Army doctors removed my tailbone 8 months after my injury as they though it had fractured it as the time of the incident and it had reset incorrectly. After the operation was performed a result came back from an MRI scan suggesting that the position of my tailbone was a birth defect and not as a result of any accident. My other injuries cleared up after 3 years and I have not had any pain nor complained of pain to an MO or GP for 10 years, I even manged to complete 2 JNCO courses and be recommened for SNCO after the incident.

My decline from re-enlisting is based on JSP 346 3.12.30 Spinal Fractures Automatic P8.

I know rules are rules but 1. it was never fully estabilished that it was a fracture only suspected based on looking at an x-ray at the time of incident. 2. If the Army had such a problem with spinal fractures why did they let me serve operational for a further 10 years and promote myself? 3. I still have a copy of the FRCS doctors report from the MRI saying that in his opinion is was more probable the position of the tailbone was a defect from birth.

If I was to appeal it would be to say that JSP 432.3.12.26 should apply to my case "strucural abnoramilties - no back pain & full free movement maybe granted L2".