Half decent suits - affordable (for an avg bloke) price in London?

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by redshift, Jun 28, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey fellas,

Now that I am growing up (sort of) and the fact that I just realized (T- 4hrs) the suit I will wear to my interview doesn't really meet the standards of the grown ups, wanted to know if there are any half decent places which I can AFFORD here in London? I am willing to spend 3 to 400 GBP on it (preferably around the GBP200 mark). I know it's not much here in London, but that's a lot where I come back from in the U.S.

Anyways, any suggestions and tips would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

• Excellent Topic Excellent Topic x 1
  2. Seriously mate, i used to be a manager for a charity... try them first (it aint as bad as it sounds) ive got 8 suits...no shit ones... paul smith, gucci etc etc

• Like Like x 1
  3. The_Duke

The_Duke LE Moderator

Get yourself to Ede & Ravenscroft - they are having their summer sale at the moment.

A two piece single breasted suit, two button, double vent, charcoal grey herringbone will set you back £305 including shortening the trousers. They also have a number of other styles and cloths in the sale, but that is the most "traditional". If you are way off a standard size, they will be able to alter it to fit better for extra.

This is a proper business suit in a decent weight cloth and a classic cut. You won't go wrong.

• Like Like x 6
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. TK Max do some good end of line stuff.

5. Bouillabaisse

Bouillabaisse LE Book Reviewer

• Like Like x 1
  6. One of the problems I find is that suits are inevitably sold as a matched coat and trousers, and a lot of places won't split them. If like me you're broad across the chest 42/44, you find the matched trousers are usually a 36/38 waist (I'm a 32/34)