HAC for the elderly

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by singinhound, Jul 11, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Would be grateful to hear from anyone who has experience of joining as a trooper and undergoing training whilst at the upper age limit. I have a few years' experience and approached the HAC to see if they might be interested in me. It turns out that they will let me take selection despite untactical patches of grey hair. So it looks like it could be a runner and I am looking at the practicalities. Single father, employed in senior management. Has anyone experience of juggling the commitment successfully?
    Thanks for any advice!
  2. Mate, if you have 'afew years experince' then you already know the answer to your own question. You have made contact so, being the types they are, IF you were too old they would have told you to go somewhere else.

If you can then do it, get your beret but for the love of Christ don't try and get an ego massage here.

Alot of ifs. If it helps!
  3. Yes, probably right. At the moment I'm standing next to the edge of the pool and asking everyone if the water's cold...
  4. I remember people arriving at quite a ripe age - albeit with previous. However that was in the 90s.

I'm pretty sure one was an ex-Legionnaire who looked late 30s when he did his BSC (the old 2nd phase HAC training).

Screw the loaf and you'll enjoy it - although I understand the admin vortex is something else nowadays. Perhaps that is not just HAC though.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Dunno why you're worried. It's not as if you are going to be doing anything more physical than sitting in an ISO container watching CCTV...
    • Like Like x 1
  6. No, I'm sorry, you must be wrong: The pamphlet definately showed pictures of professional-looking types wading through a river, and possibly to the theme of "Who Dares Wins"