Gunner OP Assistant

Discussion in 'Gunners' started by Mr.Brown, Jun 5, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I should introduce myself, my name is Rory and I'm from Australia. I've been saving for a trip to Europe for a few months now, and generally trying to work out what to do with myself. Anyway I had applied for the Army Reserve (TA) here, and after a few months of going through the painfully inefficient (privatized) recruiting process, I was advised to go for Officer training. To cut a long story short, I was declined at the last hurlde from the role because I have no prior leadership experience, and none of the "expert" recruiters had actually asked me that question during the preceeding process.
    Anyway, I stumbled across the fact that Australian citizens are eligible for service in the British Army, and I'm generally not feeling like going to uni right now, so I decided to travel over and apply (I'm waiting on the pack, should be in the mail soon). I'm much more attracted to the diversity of jobs and postings in the British Army than I am to serving in the deserts here, coupled with the generally better benefits and the near-certainty of being deployed on Ops (this appeals to me).
    Anyway, I'm looking to apply for Infantry, Armour or Artillery, if I go RA then I'll be most interested in the OP Assistant trade, and I was wondering how much of a shot a raw recruit has for this role. I graduated High School in the top 15th percentile of my state if it helps.
    Any advice from those who know would be greatly appreciated. I'm also especially hoping to get posted in Germany.

2. Mr Brown welcome cobber!

A few thoughts from me - do you have A-level equivalent (after high school, before uni)?