Grand Jury - whats all that about?

Discussion in 'Finance, Property, Law' started by Bound_Apprentice, Nov 7, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have been watching "The Wire" recently and reading a couple of excellent books by David Simon, one of the shows writers. Throughout there has been a number of referrals to Arraingment and Grand Juries. I am not a complete novice to the British Judicial system so think I am right in saying that an Arraingment is similar to Commital, but what exactly is a Grand Jury and does it have a comparable element in British Law?

Don't bust a gut - just curious!

B_A

2. By the way "The Wire" is excellent! If you haven't seen it your missing out!

3. Not a lawyer but, as far as I am aware, no. The equivalent step in the UK (deciding whether there is a case to answer and sufficient prima-facie evidence) is done behind closed doors by the CPS / Fiscal.

I suppose the closest equivalent is a judicial review?

4. Basically in common law (which is law which has been decided by the Courts ) the GJ is essentially a type of jury which will consider whether there is enough evidence to take a matter to trail. You wont really find this outside of the U.S. (typical) ,the English Courts did away with this some 70-80 odd years ago, our committal procedure is the equivilent of the GJ.

An arraignment is where the rap sheet/allegations are read to the defendant.

didn't bust me gut and you have your answer.... :D

5. The Grand Jury usually sits at Southwark.

If it's a kiddie fiddler, it's guilty. If it's the Old Bill, they are all liars. If it's a burglar or robber, the benefit of doubt.

See you in the rub 'a' dub laters my Old China.