Graduating University and joining as a Soldier

Discussion in 'The Training Wing' started by DrBigCurls, Dec 3, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. In the next week I shall make a call to the local Armed Forces Careers Office to arrange a meeting. However I thought that I might be able to gain some advice from here aswell.

I'm currently a second year University student studying Law. At the start of the course I was very much interested in pursuing a career in law, however, after a number of work experience placements I've rather lost my appetite for it (the reasons for which aren't important but don't cause a particuarly inspiring view of the profession).

Whilst I don't wish to continue with law after University I am interested in the degree and will continue to see it through until the end. I've been thinking a lot about joining the armed forces though I do think that I need to look in more detail to decide what would be the best career in it for me.

What I would like some advice on then is whether this is a common accurance. Are there many people who become Soldiers whilst having a degree in a subject they will not likely be using in their trade? Would it be seen as an asset or a hindrance?

Any advice that can be given would be very greatfully recieved.

2. Redcap Springs to mind

3. The Sappers have quite a number of soldiers with degrees(not all of an engineering/Science nature)

4. You're a law student you say; and you can't work this one out for yourself?