Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by Mo87, May 10, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all, trying to find some info on an issue that I'm sure isn't as unique as I think.

I'm currently in my 3rd year at university (in Scotland), and am set to do the full 4 years required north of the border to achieve an honors degree. I've sat my briefing (Feb this year, with a cat 1) and I'm currently waiting for a date for my main board.

My question is this...At my briefing I told the Officer I would be finishing uni in June '10. If I was to start my final year (september this year) and at somepoint throughout the year decide it wasn't for me and leave would it affect my entry?

I will hopefully achieve my BSc this summer and will be deemed as a graduate, however I realise some may hold it against me that i left before achieving honors status - Would I been seen of as a quitter?

4th year is something I had origionally decided not to do, as enjoyment of my course is yet to be experienced. I have only decided to try it to answer the question of "what if?" Appologies for the somewhat lengthy but vague post. Any help would be much appreciated.
  2. It rather depends on whether or not you can stick the last year. It would probably be best to finish what you started.

One suggestion though would be to join the TA, as a TAPO; do your board through them. A pass at the board is the same for both TA and regs. This would give you the option to hang the course and go into Sanders earlier, or do some TA work as an officer and decide if army life is all that it's cracked up to be.

Good luck either way.
  3. rasselas

rasselas Swinger Book Reviewer