Going Soft?

Discussion in 'Aviation' started by vampire_one, Dec 1, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Many eons ago I was a REME Air Tech. In those days the Army Air Corp did its basic training at Middle Wallop. The ethos was very clear, if a soldier on the ground was hurting or in need of help, the techs, ground crew and the pilots and aircrew moved heaven and hell to get to them. In short although the rule book did not go out the window the soldier on the ground came first and everyone worked together to help.

Without Crab baiting we are all aware that for the RAF the safety of the aircraft comes first and foremost.

My question is this. With the formation of the Joint Helicopter Force and the fact that the Army Air Corp is now doing its basic training at RAF CRANWELL is some of the RAF ethos rubbing off on to the young AAC pilots to the point where the soldier on the ground no longer comes first?

2. With respect, I'm not entirely sure that your point is fair - at least not given the multiple DFCs and at least one CGC (although that one is in the public domain, it was barely noticed when mentioned in the London Gazette) awarded to the RAF SH fleet in the last nine years, all of them for doing things which suggest that the safety of the airframe wasn't foremost in the minds of those flying the aircraft.

3. I'd like to know what your motive is for asking this?

You may have heard of this recent mission;

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

MoD link

Hopefully the amount of gongs the chaps received for carrying out the mission may lay your fears to rest that the AAC has gone all soft and crab like.