Glass Ceiling for Non-Grads?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by privatescruff, Jun 22, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Ok, I have the dubious pleasure of persuading liberal-pacifist parents (you know the sort) to let me follow my ambition and join the army. They took it better than I though, but when I told then I'd immensely prefer to join at 18/19 as a non-grad officer, my dad was insistent that there is some glass ceiling meaning that I will not get beyond a certain level. I have found no evidence to support this, but now there's doubt in my mind, does anyone here have the answer? I know about the lower pay and seniority, no need to clarify that

2. I took my boy along to a recruitment office a while back and this is how they explained it to us. If you join as a non graduate, you will have to sit promotion exams at each level of promotion. If you join as a graduate officer, when you are being considered for promotion, you don't need to do the exams. I assume that's up to a certain level? I'm sure others who are much more qualified than me will give more details.

3. Everyone sits the same exams regardless of academic qualification. The only policy advantage to being a graduate is that you get a deal of seniority over non-graduates; this means that you have to wait significantly longer to get promoted.

4. Serious question,

Why should this be?
    Is there any evidence that grads make better officers than non grads?
    Why would a person be given enhanced seniority purely on the basis of possessing a degree?

Or is it just another example of copying the yanks?

5. Utter and total balls. Everyone goes through the same process, nothing extra for Non grads.

No Glass ceiling, just a slower promotion to Major. After that, it all evens out more or less.