Getting the Promotion shaft?!!

Discussion in 'Officers' started by jockistani, Jul 24, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey guy's,

I'm a TA officer, commisioned in May 2004. I've told every man and his dog that I have a degree. But my APC have said that because they were not aware of me having a degree in my first probationary year, I would have to serve 2 probationary years as a 2nd Lt. Why? Surely its just a paper work pain in the ass for someone. I'm missing out on a wedge of cash because of this ... is it just me or am I getting the shaft here?!!

Just finished my 2nd probatioanry year now ... and I'm still a 2nd Lt too!! 26 months since commisioning!!

Not happy. They ask me to help the retention issue and spend the rest of their time pissing me off too!!

Anyone got any advice?

2. Have you tried holding your breath and stamping your feet until someone takes notice?
    26 months is a long old time, even without the degree. What does your Chain of Command have to say about the issue? I'm sure there's a harrassed desk officer at Glasgow your Adjt/OC could give a tinkle to sort this out in double quick time.
  3. Think it may be getting sorted - (should that be maybe?)!! - spoke to my PSAO who will speak to the Adj and CO etc - but we're just about to leave for a sunny sandy climate so I ain't holding my breath!!! At least I'm getting paid!! One way to look at it!!!

4. Have heard of this happening before. Sounds like someone can't be bothered to fill out the paperwork. It is my belief that with a switched on PSAO and Admin officer not only should you get promoted (after possibly sending a copy of your degree scroll to necessary admin types at fraggle rock) but you may also be entitled to back pay to the time that you should have been promoted!!!!!