Getting a SIM card and doing a SE Asia MilSat

Discussion in 'Travel' started by TheIronDuke, Dec 14, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. TheIronDuke

TheIronDuke LE Book Reviewer

Those of you know and love me may believe I am a security and comms expert. I am not. I have just made a few quid out of talking shite to stupid *******.

In fact, I am a Babe in the Woods (down jarrod) and can just about manage to take a call on my mobbie in the UK.

I shall shortly be poodling about SE Asia and for once, the firm is not picking up the tab for my mobbie calls to the UK, US and my chums in Chechnya.

I have heard you can buy a chip so the fish faced enemies of the people at Orange may not charge you £50 a minute to call your old Mum.

How does that work?

2. If my phone was not network locked, which it ain't. I'd buy a 'pay as you go' sim, whilst in country, with an international add on.

3. TheIronDuke

Yeah, so I hand my mobbie to a skinny chap in Vietnam? That is up there with "Ah, Madam, nice diamond ring. We will clean it for free". Then the slant eyed half men take it in the back and switch the stones.

I am not paranoid. I am careful.

4. Just buy a sim from the local market, change sims card, that's it. You could use that wireless thing on an iphone to talk for free to other iphone users.

5. Change the sim your self. You some sort of retard? ffs.

• Like Like x 1
  6. Yep, as Jarrod says, it's that easy. As long as your mobile is unlocked.

I used local SIM Cards in Iraq and Afghanistan (Yeah, I know, Baaaadddd Puppy) and never had a problem, They're ******* cheap as well.

7. I have sims from three countries, all work fine in an unlocked iPhone. Problem was that they were all used most of the time, so I now have the "home" one in the iPhone and the other two in an unlocked Duos. Works a treat, and saves roaming costs.

8. TheIronDuke