Getting a degree as a soldier

Discussion in 'Education and Resettlement Courses' started by Phantom1, Jul 15, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm thinking of enlisting rather than going to university and possibly attempting officer selection after it, because I'm bored of studying and I want to get out there now and just 'do stuff'... After I've completed my training (Infantry or Royal Armoured Corps, not too sure yet) would I, if I decide to, be able to study for say a degree in poltics or criminal justice whilst serving in the Army? I have just finished my A levels and I know I'll probably get decent grades as I studied hard. But I'm just thinking I want to join up now and be a career soldier. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Also, does the Army pay for degree level study for soldiers?

2. wedge_cadman

wedge_cadman War Hero Reviewer Book Reviewer

I believe there is a yearly education grant still available to all soldiers. I'm sure a wiser sage will correct me if I'm wrong. I used mine for OU Modules that i added to my trade quals, i never had time due to army work to completed my degree in a short time. It took me 6 years to finish.

3. There is nothing at all stopping you studying in your spare time, distance learning etc. There are many good schemes including enhanced learning credits that you could use. In addition there is a sceme run by City & Guilds that allow, dependant on rank attained, either Licentiateship (LCGI), Graduateship (GCGI) or Membership (MCGI) to the City and Guilds Institute and are comparable to a Foundation Degree, Honours Degree and Masters Degree respectively.

Good luck with whatever you choose.

4. Linky for anyone who's interested in the City and Guilds stuff:

HM Armed Forces