Gerschler Fartlek

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by soldiertobe, Jul 26, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I've read a few people have been struggling to make progress with their "Fartlek" training. Now I'm no expert or fitness advisor but I thought some of you might be interested in the fartlek I do every other day with clear results in my fitness.

I have put this on a thread somewhere but thought it'd merit a new topic!?

I have been unable to train properly for 4 weeks because of injury and now have 3 weeks to go before my training. In terms of my fitness I had some catching up to do as the time out added a scary 30 secs to my 1.5 mile time.

Now, I can feel myself getting fitter with the "Gerschler fartlek" I found online somewhere.

I use my local footy pitch and run 1m30s followed by 30 secs striding hard (about 80% effort, not sprinting off like Linford) then a 1m 15s recovery jog repeat the hard stride for 30 secs every time and keep going by decreasing your recovery jog by 15 secs each time:

1m30s jog - 30s - 1m15s recovery jog - 30s - 1m recovery jog - 30s - 45s recovery jog - 30s - 30s recovery jog - 30s - 15s recovery jog - 30s and repeat 2 or 3 circuits starting back at 1m 30s recovery each time.

Her indoors comes with me armed with stopwatch and whistle and off I go. I find it easier to motivate myself if someones there timing for me.

I hope this helps some people? When I first started I found it murder but after just a week It made huge changes to my fitness. Since after my injury I was struggling with just one circuit but now I can do 2 with relative ease but haven't gone any further as I'm trying to train progressively.