Gemini Assault Boats

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by Bill_Zebub, May 19, 2003.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Can anyone help me out with a problem.

The ACF unit of which I am an instructor wishes to carry out some Watermanship trg during the summer months.

We have all the qualified instructors, we have a trg area, we even have cadets willing to get very wet !

but, we don't know who to approach to borrow Gemini assault boats and outboard motors from. Aluminium Mk 5 assault boats are available, but cadets are not allowed to use them due to "their inherent instability"  :eek:

The last time we went along this route, I was told that "there are only 3 or 4 in the country", but this was by the blanket stacking dept. who are renowned for their work repelling capabilities.

Any comments gratefully received

2. Try the TRG wing of any Royal Engineers Regt.
    They might be able to organise the training for you.
    Every Sqn G10 store has a recce boat as part of it's kit.

You're in with an even better chance if you're near one of the following;
    Gibraltar Bks, Camberley, RE training regiments with a boat yard at Hawley lake.

Weymouth, Cbt Engr Trg camp, purpose built watermanship/bridging training centre.

Chatham/Chattenden, Kent, the principle boat training establishment.

There's also a TA Amph Engr Sqn at Winchester/Aldershot who may be able to help, but I'm not sure of the set up down there.

One word of advice, if you can get hold of it, read AGAI chapter 18, "Training over water".  It may put the handbrake on people willing to lend a hand with all the H+S implications of cadets exercising over water, as a couple of AI's found out when they drowned a few kids a couple of years ago.