G3 / SLR ?

Discussion in 'Military History and Militaria' started by jonwilly, Jul 1, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am not an expert on small arms, I only have a general understanding on these weapons.
    I have noticed over the years in factual books the use of the G3 by Brit Forces (SF, Police), even tho the SLR was issue rifle of the day.
    The SLR had a good rep in Brit service and there have been on the board comments about the G3 not being up to it.
    Would more knowlagable members care to comment.
  2. The G3 was the standard issue weapon of the German and other armies.

I had a standard 20 round box mechanism and was chambered for the 7.62mm round. It had a bolt sytem nut dissimilar to that of the mp5 essentially a family member. I don't know why the police would have had it apart from in the PSG1 version (praezisionsscharfschuetzengewehr) sniper rifle!

Having used it myself I think the weapon was the dogs danglers and an all round decent piece of kit!
  3. It's a fantastic rifle, exactly what we've come to expect from Heckler & Koch. I assume the Police will have most of, if not all the HK firearms in their arsenal... G3SG/1, MSG90, HK33 etc. including the variants.
  4. Never even handled a G3 but the SLR was an absolutely fantastic rifle in the hands of an experienced soldier. That, however, was the nub and why it had to be replaced (by a cheap piece of plastic sh1t that continually broke)

Having said that, a lot of blokes from my battalion who fought in the Falklands slagged it off because it couldn't fire fully automatic and the flash eliminator was shi te
  5. Naturally, the G3 was the CETME built under licence in Germany.