Future opportunities and employment prospects

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by Percy Piccolo, Apr 18, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi,

I am going to Sandhurst in September, and am having a fair amount of trouble figuring out my COA...

Something tells me I should maybe try and look at which regiments can offer me the best employment prospects once I leave, further developing my degree instead of scrapping it.

I have a degree in Business, Maths and IT and am pretty tech savvy, and was therefore thinking about the Signals. However, I also speak a couple of languages, which got me thinking about the Intelligence Corps.

I am not looking for people to say X regiment is such that Y is so etc, I will figure that out for myself. I am purely asking with regards to extra skills gained which are transferable to the civilian world.

I have done a fair bit of research, and from what I gather the Signals would maybe provide me with the best prospects in an IT environment. As an Int Corps Officer, it seems that Management is what you really take away as well as the possibility of Government work.

I might be wrong though, and would really appreciate some unbiased advice with regards to future prospects in those regiments, or potentially others (I am not into Engineering though).

Thanks in advance
  2. I'd give the Loamshires a crack, fine regiment. Go for the IT Company.
  3. Thanks for the reply, I have looked there and all over the Army website, but can't seem to find anyone who openly talks about it. I couldn't find a sticky entitled "what next".

I was maybe hoping for some insight from officers who are or were in those regiments and can tell me what they or other officers were up against when they left. See if they had an advantage over a more mainstream regiment.