FTRS - Language Course

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Charlie_Cong, Jul 20, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Any of you on the course or know someone who is?

Seems quite attractive - take a couple of tours on the chin in return for a new language.

Something tells me that I'd be more likely to spend two six monthers watchkeeping and attending meetings in HQ MND(SE) than indulging my "Great Game" fantasies of slinking around Afghanistan dyed black wearing a shalwar khameez and fearsome beard.

I'd appreciate opinions, though.

Thanks

Charlie

2. When I looked at this earlier this year, it was only 1x 6 month tour, and you got to choose the language.

I did very seriously contemplate it, but in return for that chunk of my life I wanted to be sure that it was Arabic that I studied - ie that I'd be left with a useful business language, and not some Afghan goat herders' dialect that might only be useful if I later worked in a DSS office...

It looks quite a cheap way to obtain fluency in an extra language, but on the 36 months of FTRS commitment you have to reckon on an additional longer-term setback in civilian career - maybe two years. During 5 years of proper civilian employment, you'd probably earn more than enough extra salary over army pay to be able to afford a civilian intensive-learning language course anyway.

In the end, I decided that I simply did not trust the system, and that I'd be better off concentrating on my civvie career (or rebuilding what was left after a couple of deployments....).

3. Doesn't that highlight that something has gone seriously wrong with the TA? I'm increasingly coming accross this and know a few people who often turn up for the latest Exercise Flying *about or Annual Camp where there is a lack of detail as they no longer trust what's instore.