Frustrated and Confused!

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by wishfulthinking, Mar 21, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Arggggh!

Right, I've been training to improve my pft time for the last six months, I've tried all sorts, high mileage, sprint drills, intervals, the lot. I'm currently following an army prescribed interval training programme, and I've improved from the 14 min pft workout to the 12 min pft workout, great. In my longer runs I've gone from a 45 min 5k to a 28 min, wonderful.

However, I've just tested my 1.5 mile, and I got 14.35, tragic.

It's so frustrating, my 5k pace is faster that my bl**dy pft! The only thing I can think of is that I get quite nervous before I test myself, and don't really believe I'll do it, and make it seem much harder than it really is.

I've only got 10 weeks before I'm tested again, and at the absolute minimum I have to be sub 13 mins. I'm going to try and drop at least a stone to help me speed up, but training wise should I carry on with the intervals, or take a different approach?

Thanks

2. I do a couple of 5 milers a week (sometimes up to 8 miles if its a good weather day) and at the end of each I do a few hill sprints before a cool down. I also do a shorter, interval session at my local football field for about 45mins. On the days between the running days I do time on the cross trainer, intervals on a rower and I swim a mile every day. Then slip into a coma all Sunday.

Been doing this for about a month and a half and I've slashed my run from 13.38 to 11.31. I do find that I run harder during the practice test run than I do when the pressure is off

Posted from the ARRSE Mobile app (iOS or Android)