Friendly advice

Discussion in 'The Training Wing' started by Gazeibo, Nov 6, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey, i want to join the army in 6/7 months after i have finished my AS Levels and I'm using this time-frame to get me in good physical condition for my RSC. I'm 6'4" and 12.5st.

At the moment i'm able to do 200+ situps, about 30 pressups in 1 go, run 3.5 miles (around the local lake :p) pretty comfortably and in alright time.

My only problem is heaves, i can do around 1 ;) Does anyone know of any general advice on improving these or is it just down to doing this 1 heave alot, i'd muuch rather have another form of help on this e.g. would tricep dips help? or pressups?

(And yes i am a newb to the army way of life, i've only recently decided to join up so be kind :D)

2. To improve situps:

Bog standard situps (remember Army situps involve your fingers touching your clavicles and elbows tucked into the sides)
    Weighted situps (over a bench and from the floor)
    Twist situps (double and single touch)
    Boxer crunches (lying on your back and alternatively twisting to touch your heels)
    Half-sits
    Alternate v-sits

To improve pressups:

Bog standard pressups (Army pressups are *supposed* to be 90 degree angle between your bicep and forearm)
    Bench pressing (take care not to bulk up too much, as this can hinder your running, IMO)
    Bent arm pullovers/lying dumbbell flyes
    Tricep presses/extensions

To improve running:

The standard test (as I'm sure you know) is 2.4km/1.5miles in under 10min 30.
    The best way is to use interval training. If you have access to a running track, start off running
    one lap at best effort (at a pace you can keep up for a lap), then one lap recovery. Repeat this
    two or three times.