Freedom: University of Hull Study

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by HullUni, Dec 13, 2008.

3. MIXED FEELINGS (please state in post)

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi there,

Im currently a student at the University of Hull studying Media, Society and Culutre. One of my modules is on the concept of freedom. For my essay I have decided to study how the Military regulate freedom for soldiers. I was just wondering if i could have some of your thoughts regarding..

* How free you think you are in the army

* What freedom means to you

* Do you feel you've lost some sense of identity because of rigourous training procedures, discipline, uniform and appearance regulations etc...

* How regulated are you in your behaviour off duty, in terms of manners and such.

* Do you feel you have had to reject (or at least subdue) your own culture in order to serve the nation.

*Also do you feel you have being stripped of your freedoms to some degree in order to uphold the rest of the nations overall freedom?

Well, there the main questions, but feel free to add anything else in relation to your freedoms. A copy of my essay, will be available to anyone that would like to look at it. Anyway, thanks for your time.

Shaun Ransom
  2. in_the_cheapseats

in_the_cheapseats LE Moderator

I would bother to answer if questions

1. were in a sensible sequence and
    2. were clearly defined. ..."etc" and "as such" means nothing to me
  3. Fugly

Fugly LE DirtyBAT

Very poor. You seem to think the Army is still stuck in the 1940's.
  5. Not as free as a civilian, but only in certain ways. I cannot go on strike, for instance, which is something civvies can do (and rightly so). Our 'sphere' of freedoms is smaller than a normal citizen's, but it is still there.