Free weights, for a complete newbie.

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Hedphelym, Dec 25, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have very limited knowledge of weight work, but decided that this year I'm going to make it an integral part of my training (Okay, it probably already should be but shh)
    I have researched this a fair bit, but haven't really found any great beginners guide. I am aware of the exercises I could do, bought a pair of dumbells so I'm ready to crack on in theory really - but it's the other things such as:

- What weight to start at and when do I change it? On a pre-determined basis, or just when I feel I can?

- Rep wise, if I stick to say 12 reps of each excercise and increase the weight, do I at any point increase the reps?

- How many different strength exersizes should I do in a workout? And do I keep the amout of sets and reps the same for each?

Mainly, I'm looking to just get stonger but a little bit of extra bulk wouldn't be unwelcome on my tall slim frame.
    I apologise if these questions seem a little bone to some of you, but as I say I'm a complete newbie when it comes to weight training.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks,
    Hed.

2. For what you want to achieve I would suggest 3 sets of 8. To figure out what weight you should be lifting start out with a low weight and gradually get higher until you cannot complete the full set, so for the biceps start out with something like 10kg, do a full set, easy? Add 5kg, repeat, still easy? Repeat. Finding 20kg to be the right weight as explained below then stick with it until thats easy and so on and so on for each muscle group...

4-7 reps - Strength

8-12 reps - Hypertrophy (size)

12+ Endurance