Forget duff translations by Google - MOLTOs here!

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by Bugsy, Jan 25, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Or will be? If the project goes ahead, MOLTO will solve all of the translation problems anybody's ever had. Just look at what it'll do:

http://www.molto-project.eu/

Anybody have any questions/qualms about it?

I've been a professional translator for the past 35 years or more. I've worked on the development of nascent translation programs from Omega Software in Chicago in 1981 to much more recent stuff, but I've yet to encounter a translation program that comes anywhere near the abilities of a human to interpret moods, specialities, colours, customs etc in a language. So could this MOLTO thing possibly be the answer?

MsG

2. What was the question?

3. in_the_cheapseats

in_the_cheapseats LE Moderator

Are you trying to get someone to start a Tower of Babel scaremongering thread here, Bugsy? Doom on you, doom on you...... :D

Apologies to all parents - been watching Ice Age way too many with my wee ones :)

In time I am quite sure some sort of universal translator will be possible. Looks like a fair starting point by the academics listed there.

4. To be honest, most of the current translation applications are utter pump. As an example, I just put 'La lucha continua. No pasaran' into babelfish and it came back as 'The continuous fight. They would not happen'. While that is technically a correct translation, it's obviously a load of b0llocks because it has used a different tense from the one most people would be using when saying such a thing in real speech.