Forces under 18 - C4 News

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by johnnymcdevitt, Mar 3, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm a journalist at Channel 4 News, looking at the Armed Forces bill, specifically at campaigners trying to get the minimum age someone can register with the Forces up from 16 to 18. We've got a lot of facts and figures about how those who sign up before they're 18 fare in the Forces, but need some testimony.
    If anyone is interested in giving me their two cents' worth, do get in contact.

If you want your identity protected, that is not a problem. ...
  2. Do these campaigners say why they want the age raised?
  3. They say that the UK is the only country in the EU to recruit U-18s, one of only a few in the UN. They talk about the nukber of U18s who sign up, want to drop out, but can't, and the high percentage of those who have signed up and are either seriously wounded or killed when they eventually go on tour (compared with those who join later). There is also a comparitivley high rate of AWOL desertion amongst U18s.
  4. Apparently they want even more people to be unemployed. And then get in to the cycle of watching jezza and claiming benefits, rather than getting a career and being usefull from the age of 16.
  5. I think the key issue for the campaigners is that U18s, who are arguably not old enough to make an fully informed decision, cannot leave for 5-6 years after signing up. They talk about an alternative of keeping U18s recruitment but implementing an absolute right to leave up until they're 18.
  6. What a ridiculous idea. Instead of giving them a purpose in life, are they advocating they leave them languishing in civi street with plenty of opportunity to be led astray. More of the liberal bullshit i suppose.