for Budding Authors


Kit Reviewer
Book Reviewer
Reviews Editor
I received this by email from Transworld Publishers who publish Sir Terry Pratchett's books:

The Terry Pratchett Anywhere But Here, Anywhen But Now First Novel Prize!

Sir Terry Pratchett and Transworld Publishers are proud to announce the 2013 The Terry Pratchett Anywhere But Here, Anywhen But Now Prize. After the successful launch of the prize in 2011 found not one, but two outstanding joint winners, Apocalypse Cow by Michael Logan and Half Sick Of Shadows by David Logan, both to be published by Doubleday in May 2012. The 2013 prize will be open for submissions from aspiring debut novelists from 1[SUP]st[/SUP] January 2012.

The award will be judged by Sir Terry Pratchett and a panel of experts. Transworld will offer the winning author a publishing contract with a £20,000 advance.

Sir Terry Pratchett defined the prize as:

“Anywhere but here, anywhen but now. Which means we are after stories set on Earth, although it may be an Earth that might have been, or might yet be, one that has gone down a different leg of the famous trousers of time (see the illustration in almost every book about quantum theory).

We will be looking for books set at any time, perhaps today, perhaps in the Rome of today but in a world where 2000 years ago the crowd shouted for Jesus Christ to be spared, or where in 1962, John F Kennedy's game of chicken with the Russians went horribly wrong. It might be one day in the life of an ordinary person. It could be a love story, an old story, a war story, a story set in a world where Leonardo da Vinci turned out to be a lot better at Aeronautics. But it won’t be a story about being in an alternate Earth because the people in an alternate Earth don’t know that they are; after all, you don’t.
The possibilities are literally endless, but remember, it’s all on Earth. Maybe the continents will be different and the climate unfamiliar, but the physics will be the same as ours. What goes up must come down, ants are ant-sized because if they were any bigger their legs wouldn't carry them. In short, the story must be theoretically possible on some version of the past, present or future of a planet Earth.”

The deadline for submissions will be 31 December 2012 and a shortlist of six entries will be announced in the spring of 2013, more details to follow. The winning entry will be published in 2014.

Entrants must be over 18, have no previous published full-length works of fiction
and live in the UK, Ireland or the Commonwealth. Submissions should be emailed to:

For full terms and conditions visit The Terry Pratchett First Novel Award | Terry Pratchett

Dust off your quills and begin writing!
So if any of you ARRSERs feel like submitting your life's work, please do so. Remember that we can offer to review your book for you also.

Similar threads

Latest Threads