Fitting a multifuel stove in a flat

Discussion in 'Finance, Property, Law' started by brettarider, Sep 21, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. brettarider

brettarider On ROPs

If I was to fit a multifuel/wood burning stove into a flat which still has a chimney would I need to have a flue fitted right up to the top of the stack or would I just need to take the flue into the chimney breast as long as it was tested and found to be Ok?

Flat is in the middle of the tenement with another above me I'm just weighing up my options at the minute between one of these or a gas fire

2. I am not an expert in this area but have some experience (the Fire Brigade was really quite sweet, as it happens...).

All the way up.

At the very least, you need to undertake a video inspection of the state of the chimney.

Multi-fuel burners run bloody hot - much hotter than the open fire for which the chimney was designed. Be careful!

Litotes

3. Do you have a stove yet or still to purchase one.

There is a dealer in Hamilton who has a great selection of models.

4. Being Septic I have no idea of the building/fire codes there. I would urge you however to invest in a battery Carbon Monoxide (CO) detector whether required or not. Here in the states they run about $25. The first few years they made them they were a bit dodgy but the newer ones are reliable and could save your life/your families life.

5. brettarider

brettarider On ROPs

Havent bought one yet I'm trying to work out if my budget will allow for one as I'll bet the installer will claim for scaffolding to drop the flue down the breast. I'd love one I know were there is plenty of easily obtainable wood so in the long run cost me almost next to nothing to heat the flat 8)

Cheers for the advice Dave realiase I'll need a smoke detector as well