Fitness

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by RoyalEngineers, Jul 20, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Well..

..basically I wanted to know some theoretical stuff.

Interested :? Haha..

Anyway, I was wondering, as your running fitness improves, do you run at a faster pace without knowing it and still find it as challenging.. or do you eventually get so good that you can go forever whilst still feeling fine?

Cause I seem to be going at a faster pace but it seems just as hard? Maybe it's cause as of yet i'm still an amateur :x

2. Its really a combination of both, I pace myself around the 1.5mile since thats the most common run I do (well 2 mile including warm up). If I am running further I just take it a little easy and same the other way, what I have found though is that since I run the 1.5mile once a day (and I say it EVERY day) is that 'those football pitches dont get any smaller', I find I do improve my time but still end up huffing and puffing like a fat guy running from salad.

3. Yeah, which brings me to think maybe I should buy a power breather thing? When I earn more than £4.50 an hour part time :oops:

4. Iv got 1 of those power breathers lurking around but never really got into it, I supose it helped a bit but then I just thought I would rather spend that time exercising since that still helps alot more.

5. Fair enough, but in times of desperation.. (well not really) i'm willing to give anything that might help a go ;)

Recently the top of my nose seems a bit closed so i'm trying to do something about that.. might try one of those strip things :wink:

6. All PT in the Army is designed to push you no matter how fit you are. Someone who runs in 8:40 should find their time just as hard as someone who does 10:10, the PFT is best effort. Steady state running gets easier though.