Fitness frustration

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Foitin_Irish, Mar 14, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi. I'm keen to join my local TA Infantry unit, i know fitness is very important due to the nature of the job. I started training to get my strength up. Sit ups and running i'm ok with, my problem is press ups, trying to build upper body strength. I might sound like a p*ssy but i really push my self and i struggle to get into the 20 mark and its p*ss*n me off :evil: . Any one got any tips on good ways to build upper body strength. Please save the sarcastic remarks, just needing sounds advice. Cheers
  2. Tricep Dips and swimming in addition to push-ups have helped me a fair bit.

In addition the cunning use of pyramids helped as well go to your max (20 in your case) and then rest for a minute, do 15, then another minute 10 etc.

Oh and always try and push out another push in your longest set (i.e, do 21 next time, then do 22)
  3. To be afir, for hitting the test mark, nothing beats doing the exercise. I would suggest doing them in sets and as you can't do any more, contine but do them on you knees until you can't do any more. You should find over time that you can do more full push ups!
  4. Also you have to take it the important factor of having patience as you seem to be expecting it to come at once, hence the frustration....

You don't get strength over night and it takes weeks (depending on the level your at now) sometimes months and beleive it or not, once you get past to ego's of some soldiers and the macho man sh!te they'll tell you doing press up's is hard work and I bet half of new recruits couldn't do 2 before they joined up...Set yourself targets and gradual improvement, and as mentioned above do them in sets of 10, say 3 sets and when you feel your ready to move up to say 15 reps, do so....